Blog

With "Off the Wall," Yuksek Ventures Into Pop Territory [Music Video]


YUKSEK - Off the wall (clip officiel) par umusic

Since his first foray into club music a few years back, Yuksek has been heavily associated with the European tidal wave of banging electro tunes, smart efficient beats, and hedonistic melodies. With his sophomore album Living On The Edge Of Time, the young producer ventures into more analog, pop-friendly territory, with more singing, catchy hooks, and the textbook verse-chorus form.

Yuksek cheekily called his new single “Off The Wall," stressing his dramatic admittance into the yellow submarine of pop music. To achieve his initiation, he teamed up with Guillaume Brière from The Shoes, a French pop-rock band.

The video uses a basic but pleasing reflection-in-the-mirror technique that deploys a cute and familiar pop aesthetic: heavy drawing paper, crayons, pastel shades, cut-and-paste workshop, visual puns, and smiling things—pretty much the ingredients of the indie-pop crowd wrapped in a certain Sufjan Stevens-Feist-Broken Social Scene atmosphere. The video was directed by Romain Ségaud from SoLab, a collective that specializes in music videos with a strong pop roster that includes acts like Metronomy, Pony Pony Run Run or Wax Tailor.

This single will be followed by an “Off the Wall EP”, to be released on February 28th in the US, with remixes by Brodinski, Dj Harvey, Cubic Zirconia and Pelican Fly.

Yuksek will kick off his American tour at SXSW this March. Full list of dates below.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012
SXSW – Austin
Mohawk / Burex Showcase

Friday, March 16, 2012
SXSW – Austin
Malverde – Kitsuné Showcase
Neon Gold Showcase

Saturday, March 17, 2012
SXSW – Austin
ND / Windish Showcase

Sunday, March 18, 2012
New York
Bath (DJ set)

Tuesday, March 20, 2012
WMC – Miami
Bardot (DJ set)

Wednesday, March 21, 2012
WMC – Miami
Bromance Party / Mamouchka (DJ set)

Thursday, March 22, 2012
WMC – Miami
Embrace (DJ set)

Friday, March 23, 2012
San Francisco
The Mezzanine

Saturday, March 24, 2012
Las Vegas
Royal House Indie Music Festival

Tuesday, March 27, 2012
Los Angeles
Dim Mak Studios

Wednesday, March 28, 2012
Seattle
LIVE Neumos

Friday, March 30, 2012
Bogota
Estéreo Picnic 2012

Comments